Scholarship launched at Community Advisory Meeting

Marshall Morgan photo
Dr. Baxter Larmon, CPC Director Emeritus, Jean Morgan, Dr. Heather Davis, Associate CPC Director, and Todd LeGassick, CPC Executive Director announce the launch of the Marshall T. Morgan, M.D. Memorial Scholarship.

Marshall Morgan photo
Community and municipal partners meet with UCLA CPC leadership, February 8, 2017.

The UCLA Center for Prehospital Care is proud to announce the launch of the Marshall T. Morgan, M.D. Memorial Scholarship, supporting prospective EMTs and Paramedics. Applications are open immediately, and are due by April 1. The scholarship was launched by Dr. Morgan's widow, Jean Morgan, and Center leadership at our Paramedic Program Community Advisory Meeting on February 8, 2017. Dr. Morgan was a longtime UCLA Emergency Medicine physician, Chairman of the Emergency Medicine department, and President of the Los Angeles County Medical Association, which joins Jean Morgan in honoring him with the memorial scholarship.

Also at the meeting, Paramedic Program Director Dr. Heather Davis reported UCLA's contribution to developing and implementing the new National Registry Scenario-Based practical examination in our region and nationwide. The Paramedic Program also reported our current 88% first-time pass rate on the National Registry certifying exam, and 82% overall completion rate.

The meeting was attended by a wide range of the UCLA Paramedic Program's community and municipal partners, including the fire departments of the City of Los Angeles, Los Angeles County, Culver City, Glendale, Monterey Park, Manhattan Beach; and the Los Angeles County EMS Agency, the UC Police Department, UCLA Emergency Medicine, American Medical Response, Little Company of Mary, and Henry Mayo Memorial Hospital.