Dr. Marshall Morgan: A Legacy of Caring

Marshall Morgan photo


Dr. Morgan always had a calming voice, inviting smile, gentle demeanor, and an enduring passion for EMS.

Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Marshall Morgan was instrumental in creating the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care, believing that high-quality education at all levels of care was a key to saving lives. From its founding through the rest of his career, as the Center grew to include the Daniel Freeman Paramedic Program and other programs, Dr. Morgan was a tireless advocate for the best possible medical education for prehospital care providers.

Dr. Morgan was a Professor of Medicine and Chief of Emergency Medicine at UCLA for 34 years and President of the Los Angeles County Medical Association 2013-2014.  He was recognized by colleagues, staff and students as an outstanding leader, educator and a compassionate physician, who always had a calming voice, inviting smile, gentle demeanor, and an enduring passion for Emergency Medical Services (EMS).  Throughout his life, Dr. Morgan was committed to helping the underserved and disenfranchised not only through direct patient care, but also by sharing his wisdom and by supporting the education of students, physicians, nurses and EMS personnel.

To honor former LACMA president Dr. Morgan’s legacy of support for Prehospital and Emergency Medicine, UCLA  has established The Marshall T. Morgan, M.D., Memorial Scholarship. The Morgan Scholarship will award up to two scholarships annually to students admitted to the UCLA Paramedic Education Program, covering up to $3000 in course fees or other course-related expenses. Application information will be sent to eligible students after acceptance into the UCLA Paramedic Program.

All applicants must be able, at the end of their program, to meet all Los Angeles County requirements for licensing/accreditation. Licensing/accreditation requirements are available at the LADHS web site.

donate button