LACMA Establishes Marshall T. Morgan, M.D., Memorial Scholarship

Marshall Morgan photo

To honor former LACMA president Marshall T. Morgan’s legacy of support for Prehospital and Emergency Medicine, the Los Angeles County Medical Association has established The Marshall T. Morgan, M.D., Memorial Scholarship. The awards will be presented at the 2016 Los Angeles Healthcare Awards to be held on Thursday, November 3rd at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. ( Awards will be presented to the UCLA Department of Emergency Medicine Residency Program and accepted by Gregory Hendey, M.D., Inaugural Chair of the Department; and UCLA Center for Prehospital Care for both Emergency Medicine Technician Education and Paramedic Programs and accepted by Dr. Steven Rottman.

Dr. Marshall Morgan was a Professor of Medicine and Chief of Emergency Medicine at UCLA for 34 years and President of the Los Angeles County Medical Association 2013-2014.  He was recognized by colleagues, staff and students as an outstanding leader, educator and a compassionate physician, who always had a calming voice, inviting smile, gentle demeanor, and an enduring passion for Emergency Medical Services (EMS).  Throughout his life, Dr. Morgan was committed to helping the underserved and disenfranchised not only through direct patient care, but also by sharing his wisdom and by supporting the education of students, physicians, nurses and EMS personnel.

The funds from this scholarship will commemorate Dr. Morgan’s commitment to Emergency Medicine residents and the career development of promising Emergency Medical Services providers.  Donations to the scholarship will create and fund:

  • Awards to enable residents to complete community and international service projects locally and abroad; 
  • A Humanism Award to recognize a graduating resident for a unique and outstanding contribution; and 
  • Scholarship support for deserving students to attend either the UCLA emergency medical technician (EMT) or paramedic education program.

Tax deductible donations may be made by visiting

Applicants interested in the scholarship can find details at the Marshall Morgan Scholarship page.